Skip to main content
Phase III+: The University is open for expanded research operations; only authorized personnel will be admitted on campus. More info here.
Awards & Honors
Titia de Lange elected to the Royal Society

Our scientists are remarkably productive and empowered to perform at their best. That’s why we have an unparalleled concentration of researchers and trainees recognized with top awards—including the world’s most prestigious bioscience prizes.

Recent Awards & Honors

2021 National Academy of Medicine
Mary E. Hatten
Hatten sheds light on the mechanisms of neuronal differentiation and migration in the cerebellar cortex.
2021 National Academy of Medicine
Charles M. Rice
Rice conducts research that helped lead to treatments that cure about 95 percent of people afflicted with the hepatitis C virus.
2021 National Academy of Medicine
Leslie B. Vosshall
Vosshall studies how the Aedes aegypti mosquito—the species responsible for spreading dengue, Zika, chikungunya, and yellow fever—perceives and processes sensory information.
American Philosophical Society
Leslie B. Vosshall
ASCI/Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine
Michel C. Nussenzweig
Allen Distinguished Investigator
Li Zhao
Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award
Ekaterina V. Vinogradova
Salk Institute Medal for Research Excellence
Cori Bargmann
NIH Director’s New Innovator Award
Junyue Cao
Rita Allen Foundation Scholar
Viviana I. Risca
Searle Scholar
Ekaterina V. Vinogradova
Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Luciano Marraffini
Tri-Institutional Breakout Award
Tomasz Ahrends
Tri-Institutional Breakout Award
Kevin Gonzales
American Society of Clinical Investigation
Sohail Tavazoie
Michelson Philanthropies and Science Prize
Paul Bastard
American Association for the Advancement of Science
Jan L. Breslow
National Academy of Inventors
Charles M. Rice

Awards given by The Rockefeller University

Pearl Meister Greengard Award

The Pearl Meister Greengard Prize is an international award recognizing outstanding women in biomedical research.

The 2022 recipient is Katalin Karikó, Ph.D., who will be honored for her fundamental discoveries that enabled development of Covid-19 mRNA vaccines.

Lewis Thomas Prize

The Lewis Thomas Prize is an international award for writing about science that honors the rare individuals who bridge the worlds of science and the humanities.

The 2022 awardee, Jennifer L. Eberhardt, is a social psychologist who investigates the consequences of the psychological association between race and crime in Biased: Uncovering the Hidden Prejudice That Shapes What We See, Think, and Do.