Skip to main content


Kip Thorne with text behind him

Honoring the Scientist as Poet

Kip S. Thorne, Ph.D.
Recipient of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics

APRIL 17, 2018

An International Award for Writing About Science

Throughout history, scientists and writers have sought to communicate with one another, despite barriers of language and process. The Rockefeller University Lewis Thomas Prize for Writing about Science honors the rare individual who bridges both worlds—whose voice and vision can tell us about science’s aesthetic and philosophical dimensions, providing not merely new information but cause for reflection, even revelation.

The Lewis Thomas Prize was established in 1993 by the trustees of The Rockefeller University and presented to Lewis Thomas, its first recipient, that year.