Skip to main content

Awards, arrivals, and promotions

Congratulations to our latest award winners:

Jean-Laurent Casanova has been recognized with the Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award for his work investigating the genetic basis of pediatric infectious diseases. The award is given by the American Society for Clinical Investigation, an honor society of physician-scientists who have made major contributions to the understanding of human disease. He will present an award lecture at the society’s annual meeting in April. Dr. Casanova is professor and head of the St. Giles Laboratory of Human Genetics and Infectious Diseases.

Elaine Fuchs has received a 2016 Vallee Visiting Professorship from The Vallee Foundation. The program pairs scientists with biomedical research institutes worldwide for a visit, typically lasting one month, designed to promote collaboration and create new partnerships. Dr. Fuchs is the Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor and head of the Robin Chemers Neustein Laboratory of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development.

Ralph E. Kleiner is the recipient of a Damon Runyon-Dale F. Frey Award for Breakthrough Scientists. The award, given by the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation, provides additional funding to Damon Runyon Fellows who have exceeded the foundation’s expectations and are considered most likely to make breakthroughs in the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of cancer. Dr. Kleiner is a postdoctoral fellow in Tarun Kapoor’s Selma and Lawrence Ruben Laboratory of Chemistry and Cell Biology.

The Rockefeller community welcomes its latest hires:

Adriana Barillas-Batarse, Administrative Assistant, Nussenzweig Laboratory
Matthieu Bendavid, Foreign Research Intern, Casanova Laboratory
Anat Biran, Postdoctoral Associate, Casanova Laboratory
Katherine Critelli, Research Assistant, Birsoy Laboratory
Benjamin Deen, Postdoctoral Associate, Freiwald Laboratory
Daniel de Groot, Foreign Research Intern, Birsoy Laboratory
Sally Dewhurst, Postdoctoral Associate, de Lange Laboratory
Mara Gnadig, Foreign Research Intern, Blobel Laboratory
Felicia Hagelberg, Visiting Student, Pfaff Laboratory
Lee Hecht, Research Assistant, Rout Laboratory
Ryan Mayle, Postdoctoral Associate, O’Donnell Laboratory
Torbjorn Persson, Postdoctoral Associate, Sakmar Laboratory
Trevor Sorrells, Postdoctoral Associate, Vosshall Laboratory
Victor Ugarte Bornstein, Postdoctoral Associate, Casanova Laboratory
Ryan White, Postdoctoral Associate, Smogorzewska Laboratory
Rory Williams, Director of Communications and Marketing, Rockefeller University Press
Xiaolan Zhao, Member of the Adjunct Faculty, Blobel Laboratory

The following researchers have been promoted:

Winrich Freiwald, to Associate Professor Head of Laboratory, Freiwald Laboratory
J. Fraser Glickman, to Research Associate Professor, Office of Academic Affairs
John LaCava, to Research Assistant Professor, Rout Laboratory