Skip to main content

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience

About the Prize

Kavli Prize medal
The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience recognizes scientists for their seminal advances in the science of the human brain. This honor is presented every two years by the Norwegian Academy of Science in partnership with The Kavli Foundation and the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.

Kavli Prize Laureates from Rockefeller

2024 Laureate

Winrich Freiwald

Winrich Freiwald, Ph.D.

Freiwald is honored for the discovery of a specialized system in the brain’s neocortex responsible for recognizing faces.

Read more

2018 Laureate

A. James Hudspeth

A. James Hudspeth, M.D., Ph.D.

Hudspeth receives this honor for his pioneering work on the molecular and neural mechanisms of hearing.

Read more

2012 Laureate

Cori Bargmann

Cori Bargmann, Ph.D.

Bargmann is awarded for elucidating basic neuronal mechanisms underlying perception and decision.

Read more



Kavli Neural Systems Institute
The Rockefeller University
1230 York Avenue, Box 257
New York, NY 10065

Lindsey Cole