Skip to main content

Awards, arrivals, and promotions

Congratulations to our latest award winners:

Hani Goodarzi has been named a Blavatnik Regional Awards Winner in the life sciences. Given by the Blavatnik Family Foundation and the New York Academy of Science, the award honors outstanding postdocs in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. Winners receive $30,000 and will be honored at the Academy’s annual gala in November. Dr. Goodarzi is a postdoc in the Elizabeth and Vincent Meyer Laboratory of Systems Cancer Biology, headed by Sohail Tavazoie, the Leon Hess Associate Professor and Senior Attending Physician at Rockefeller University Hospital.

Paul Greengard has been honored with the Louise Hansen Marshall Special Recognition Award. Given by the Society for Neuroscience at its annual meeting, this award recognizes those who have significantly promoted the professional development of women in neuroscience through teaching, organizational leadership, public advocacy, and more. It includes complimentary meeting registration. Dr. Greengard is the Vincent Astor Professor and head of the Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience.

Ziv Shulman is a Blavatnik Regional Awards Finalist in the life sciences. Finalists receive $10,000 and will be honored along with winners in the academy’s annual gala. Dr. Shulman was a postdoc in the Laboratory of Molecular Immunology headed by Michel Nussenzweig, the Zanvil A. Cohn and Ralph M. Steinman Professor, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Senior Physician at the Rockefeller University Hospital. He has since established his own lab at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel.

The Rockefeller community welcomes its latest hires:

[ezcol_1half id=”” class=”” style=””]Alona Barnea, Visiting Student, Greengard Laboratory
Christina Baro, Visiting Student, Nussenzweig Laboratory
Kari Bovee, Clinical Research Nurse, Hospital Nursing Outpatient
Martin Bush, Research Associate, Walz Laboratory
Natasha Comas, Teacher, Child and Family Center
Tara Conniff, Research Assistant, Gleeson Laboratory
Beth Demel, Associate Director, Development Communications, Development
Brandon Fleischer, Development Assistant, Development
Ilana Gabanyi, Postdoctoral Associate, Mucida Laboratory
Dante Graves, Production Editor, Rockefeller University Press
Jennifer Heinemann, Visiting Student, Nussenzweig Laboratory
Lene Hockstein-Baker, Administrative Assistant, Comparative Bioscience Center
Christine Hodgson, Assistant Director of Outreach Programming and Events, Development
Jessica Horvath, Research Assistant, McEwen Laboratory
[/ezcol_1half] [ezcol_1half_end id=”” class=”” style=””]Atsuko Imai, Visiting Fellow, Ott Laboratory
Suyu Jiang, Visiting Student, Chua Laboratory
Julia Joseph, Research Assistant, Allis Laboratory
Martha Kahlson, Research Assistant, Ruta Laboratory
Aleksandra Krolak, Postdoctoral Associate, Blobel Laboratory
Lizette Lantigua, Teacher, Child and Family Center
Alyssa Luong, Grants Management Specialist, Sponsored Research and Program Development
Carl Mitchell, Research Assistant, Blobel Laboratory
Jonathan Pabon, Research Assistant, Rice Laboratory
Collette Ryder, Director of Sponsored Research and Program Development, Sponsored Research and Program Development (learn about Ryder and her appointment)
Helena-Maria Schnell, Visiting Student, Simon Laboratory
Alipasha Vaziri, Associate Professor Head of Laboratory, Vaziri Laboratory (read more about Dr. Vaziri and his research)
Marilu Vazquez, Finance Assistant, Comparative Bioscience Center[/ezcol_1half_end]

The following researchers have been promoted:

[ezcol_1half id=”” class=”” style=””]Hee-Sook Kim, to Senior Research Associate, Papavasiliou Laboratory
[/ezcol_1half] [ezcol_1half_end id=”” class=”” style=””]Lisa Pomeranz, to Senior Research Associate, Friedman Laboratory[/ezcol_1half_end]