Skip to main content

2018 Highlights in Faculty Awards


Lasker Thumbnail

Albert Lasker Award

C. David Allis, Ph.D.

Allis receives the award for his research on epigenetic gene regulation and its role in disease.
Kavli Thumbnail

Kavli Prize in Neuroscience

A. James Hudspeth, M.D., Ph.D.

Hudspeth receives this honor for his pioneering work on the molecular and neural mechanisms of hearing.
Howard Hughes Medical Institute logo

Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigators

Gaby Maimon, Ph.D. and Luciano Marraffini, Ph.D.

Maimon, who studies cognition and decision-making, and Marraffini, who studies the bacterial defense system CRISPR-Cas, are among 19 scientists nationwide to receive this designation.
Pershing Square Sohn Prize

Pershing Square Sohn Prize

Kivanç Birsoy, Ph.D.

This young investigator award goes to Birsoy for his research on cellular metabolism, work that potentially could lead to new anti-cancer therapies.
The Royal Society logo

Royal Society Membership

Jeffrey M. Friedman, M.D., Ph.D.

Friedman was elected as a foreign member for his discoveries that have transformed obesity research.
 UNC School of Med

Perl-UNC Neuroscience Prize

Winrich Freiwald, Ph.D.

Freiwald is honored for discovering the brain mechanisms that enable face recognition. The $20,000 award is given by The University of North Carolina School of Medicine.
Fred Hutch Logo

Robert Koch Award

Jeffrey V. Ravetch, M.D., Ph.D.

Ravetch has been selected for his groundbreaking work analyzing antibody response. He has worked for decades on the Fc fragment of the antibody molecule and on its binding partners, known as Fc receptors.

Achievements Awarded to Rockefeller Scientists


Blavatnik Regional Award
Shruti Naik

Blavatnik Regional Award Finalist
Zhe Zhang

GITAM Foundation Award
Michael W. Young, Ph.D.

Longlist for the Nature Research Award for Inspiring Science
Shruti Naik, Ph.D.

National Academy of Medicine Emerging Leader in Health and Medicine
Sohail Tavazoie, M.D., Ph.D.

Howard Taylor Ricketts Award
Robert G. Roeder, Ph.D.

The Rockefeller University Distinguished Teaching Award
Seth A. Darst, Ph.D.
Michael P. Rout, Ph.D.

Tri-Institutional Breakout Award for Junior Investigators
Zhe Zhang and Shruti Naik

Ernst W. Bertner Memorial Award
C. David Allis, Ph.D.

Distinguished Service Award, Clinical Immunology Society
Jean-Laurent Casanova, M.D., Ph.D.

Bert and Natalie Vallee Award in Biomedical Science
Titia de Lange, Ph.D.

Quadrivium Award for Innovative Research in Epigenetics
Gabrielle H. Reem and Herbert J. Kayden Early-Career Innovation Award
Daniel Kronauer, Ph.D.

Pew Scholar
Gregory M. Alushin, Ph.D.

Pew-Stewart Scholar for Cancer Research
Kivanç Birsoy, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Transition Award in Aging, American Federation for Aging Research
Yejing Ge, Ph.D.

Irma T. Hirschl/Monique Weill-Caulier Trust Research Award
Sloan Research Fellowship
Li Zhao, Ph.D.

Top Ten Clinical Research Achievement Award
Marina Caskey, M.D.

Weintraub Graduate Student Award
Lillian Cohn

American Academy of Microbiology
Elizabeth Campbell, Ph.D.

Biochemical Society Award
Paul Bieniasz, Ph.D.

ACTS Distinguished Investigator Award
James G. Krueger, M.D., Ph.D.

Pontifical Academy of Science
Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.