Skip to main content

Awards, arrivals, and promotions

Congratulations to our latest award winners:

Cori Bargmann has been awarded an honorary doctor of science degree from the University of Oxford. Dr. Bargmann was one of nine distinguished figures who was celebrated at Encaenia, the university’s annual honorary degree ceremony, on June 22. Dr. Bargmann is Torsten N. Wiesel Professor and head of the Lulu and Anthony Wang Laboratory of Neural Circuits and Behavior.

Postdoctoral fellow John Maciejowski has won the 2016 Regeneron Prize for Creative Innovation. The national award, given by Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc., honors innovative young scientists based on proposals they submit that have the potential to drive biomedical research forward. Dr. Maciejowski, of Titia de Lange’s Laboratory of Cell Biology and Genetics, will receive a $50,000 prize and a $5,000 donation to Rockefeller to support a seminar series.

Michel C. Nussenzweig has received the 2016 Robert Koch Award. Nussenzweig will share the €100,000 prize, given by the Robert Koch Foundation of Germany, with Alberto Mantovani from Humanitas University for their outstanding achievements in immunology. They will be honored at a formal ceremony in November. Dr. Nussenzweig is senior physician at The Rockefeller University Hospital and Zanvil A. Cohn and Ralph M. Steinman Professor and head of the Laboratory of Molecular Immunology.

The Rockefeller community welcomes its latest hires:

Oladapo Adaramola, Visiting Medical Student, Coller Laboratory
Terieke Anthony, Animal Attendant, Comparative Bioscience Center
Alyssa Ayala, Research Assistant, Greengard Laboratory
Miles Barney, Research Assistant, Greengard Laboratory
Juan Carlos Bautista, Assistant Teacher, Child and Family Center
Erol Bayraktar, Postdoctoral Associate, Birsoy Laboratory
Rachel Belote, Postdoctoral Associate, Simon Laboratory
Dakota Blackman, Research Assistant, Freiwald Laboratory
Sergio Botero, Postdoctoral Associate, Simon Laboratory
Rachel Caron, Research Assistant, Rosenberg Laboratory
Michael Chang, Research Assistant, Tuschl Laboratory
Courtney Chiu, Research Assistant, Darst Laboratory
Paolo de Angelis, Research Assistant, McEwen Laboratory
Lily Delalande, Research Assistant, Liu Laboratory
Andreia Estrela, Postdoctoral Associate, Brady Laboratory
Ava Farrell, Research Assistant, Greengard Laboratory
Shlomo Finkin, Postdoctoral Associate, Nussenzweig Laboratory
Erin Flansburg, Associate Controller, Finance Controllers Office
Kadija Fofana, Recruitment Specialist, Hospital Clinical Research Office
Peter Fridy, Postdoctoral Associate, Rout Laboratory
Stefanie Gerstberger, Postdoctoral Associate, Tuschl Laboratory
Jose Angel Gonzalez, Visiting Medical Student, Krueger Laboratory
Ava Griffith, Grants Management Specialist, Sponsored Research and Program Development
Zhanna Hakhverdyan, Postdoctoral Associate, Rout Laboratory
Jason Hawkes, Instructor in Clinical Investigation, Krueger Laboratory
Madeline Hwee, Research Assistant, Ravetch Laboratory
Peter Insley, Postdoctoral Associate, Shaham Laboratory
Wenyan Jiang, Postdoctoral Associate, Marraffini Laboratory
Pauline Johnson, Clinical Research Specialist, Hospital Medical Science
Moonjung Jung, Instructor in Clinical Investigation, Smogorzewska Laboratory
Theodora Karagounis, Visiting Student, Nussenzweig Laboratory
Sean Kelly, Postdoctoral Associate, Comparative Bioscience Center
Lodoe Lama, Postdoctoral Associate, Tuschl Laboratory
Jongmi Lee, Research Associate, Krueger Laboratory
Youngmin Lee, Instructor in Clinical Investigation, Tuschl Laboratory
Olga Leus, Human Resources Assistant, Human Resources
Logan Mendez, Research Assistant, Tavazoie Laboratory
Katrina Millard, Clinical Research Nurse Practitioner, Nussenzweig Laboratory
Stefannie Moak, Research Assistant, Gilbert Laboratory
Monica Mugnier, Postdoctoral Associate, Papavasiliou Laboratory
Joy Pai, Bioinformatics Specialist, Nussenzweig Laboratory
Corrine Quirk, Research Assistant, Rice Laboratory
Dennis Schaefer-Babajew, Visiting Student, Nussenzweig Laboratory
Tshering Sherpa, Research Assistant, Simon Laboratory
Johanna Sotiris, Research Support Specialist, Cryo-Electron Microscopy Resource Center
Mukesh Babu Sundara Babu, Information Security Analyst, Information Technology
Mahira Tiwana, Research Assistant, Greengard Laboratory
Donovan Ventimiglia, Postdoctoral Associate, Bargmann Laboratory
Hanbin Wang, Research Assistant, Brivanlou Laboratory

The following researchers have been promoted:

Stylianos Bournazos, to Research Assistant Professor, Ravetch Laboratory
Juana Gonzalez, to Senior Research Associate, Krueger Laboratory
Eve-Ellen Govek, to Staff Scientist, Hatten Laboratory
Yuval Itan, to Research Assistant Professor, Casanova Laboratory