Skip to main content

Awards, arrivals, and promotions

Congratulations to our latest award winners:

David Allis has won the 2016 Gruber Genetics Prize. The prize is given by The Gruber Foundation of Yale University and honors scientists whose work inspires fundamental shifts in knowledge and culture. Allis shares the award with Michael Grunstein of UCLA for identifying the critical role of histones and histone modification in regulating gene activity. Dr. Allis is Joy and Jack Fishman Professor and head of the Laboratory of Chromatin Biology and Epigenetics.

Nathaniel Heintz, who studies the inner workings of the mammalian brain, and Stanislas Leibler, who explores questions related to how simple genetic and biochemical networks function, have been elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. With Heinz and Leibler’s election, Rockefeller now boasts 37 members or foreign associates of the Academy among its current faculty. Dr. Heintz is James and Marilyn Simons Professor and head of the Laboratory of Molecular Biology, and Dr. Leibler is Gladys T. Perkin Professor and head of the Laboratory of Living Matter.

Charles M. Rice has been honored with the 2016 InBev-Baillet Latour Health Prize for his work on the hepatitis C virus. The award, which is given by the Baillet Latour Fund to recognize outstanding achievements in biomedical research for the benefit of human health, is Belgium’s most important scientific prize. Dr. Rice is Maurice R. and Corinne P. Greenberg Professor in Virology and head of the Laboratory of Virology and Infectious Disease.

Sanford Simon and William Hammond, a research fellow in the Simon lab, have won awards from The Rally Foundation for Childhood Cancer Research. The foundation raises awareness and funds to develop new treatments with fewer long-term side effects for pediatric cancers. Dr. Hammond has been awarded a $20,000 grant for his work, and Dr. Simon’s $100,000 grant is co-funded by The Truth 365. Dr. Simon is professor and head of the Laboratory of Cellular Biophysics.

Torsten Wiesel, President Emeritus, has received the Karolinska Institute’s Jubilee Gold Medal for his extraordinary contributions to the Swedish scientific community and to Karolinska itself. Dr. Wiesel shares the award with Rune Fransson, the institute’s former director. Dr. Wiesel is Vincent and Brooke Astor Professor Emeritus of the Laboratory of Neurobiology.

The Rockefeller community welcomes its latest hires:

Alison Ashbrook, Postdoctoral Associate, Rice Laboratory
Luis Barrales, Network Technician, Information Technology
Antoine Campagne, Postdoctoral Associate, Tarakhovsky Laboratory
Disan Davis, LAB Program Manager, Dean’s Office
Michael Dyer, Hospital Facilities Specialist, Hospital Administration
Chandrabali Ghose, Visiting Scientist, Fischetti Laboratory
Rohan Hart, Animal Attendant, Comparative Bioscience Center
Jeff Hennefeld, Media & Design Support Specialist, Information Technology
David Hildebrand, Postdoctoral Associate, Freiwald Laboratory
Sergio Juarez Carreno, Visiting Student, Vosshall Laboratory
Diana Klompstra, Postdoctoral Associate, Shaham Laboratory
David Knorr, Visiting Fellow, Ravetch Laboratory
James Maguire, Animal Attendant, Comparative Bioscience Center
Aimee Moraitis, Science Outreach Administrator, Dean’s Office
Charles Napoleon, Executive Assistant, Brivanlou Laboratory
Carolyn Park, Research Assistant, Hynes Laboratory
Eric Ramos, Visiting Student, Magnasco Laboratory
Zachary Rivera, Animal Attendant, Comparative Bioscience Center
Jianjin Shi, Postdoctoral Associate, Tessier-Lavigne Laboratory
Tiago Siebert Altavini, Postdoctoral Associate, Gilbert Laboratory
Polina Vaitsenfeld, Postdoctoral Associate, Ravetch Laboratory
Roger Vaughan, Adjunct Professor, Coller Laboratory
Juliette Wipf, Postdoctoral Fellow, Fischetti Laboratory