Skip to main content



Mary Ellen Conley, the AAI-Steinman Award from the American Association of Immunologists. The award, named for the late Ralph M. Steinman, head of Rockefeller’s Laboratory of Cellular Physiology and Immunology, recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the understanding of immune processes underlying human disease pathogenesis, prevention or therapy. The award will be presented May 10 at the association’s annual meeting in New Orleans. Dr. Conley is a member of Jean-Laurent Casanova’s St. Giles Laboratory of Human Genetics of Infectious Diseases.

Jeffrey V. Ravetch, the Wolf Prize in Medicine. He shares the prize, which includes a monetary award of $100,000, with two other immunologists, John Kappler and Philippa Marrack, who is a member of Rockefeller’s Committee on Scientific Affairs. The Wolf Prizes are awarded annually in arts and sciences by the Wolf Foundation of Israel and are presented by the president of Israel. Dr. Ravetch is Theresa and Eugene M. Lang Professor and head of the Leonard Wagner Laboratory of Molecular Genetics and Immunology.

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, the NY/NJ CEO Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his leadership in the bioscience community. The award was announced at a Boston Biotech Conference of executives held November 12 and 13 in New York; Dr. Tessier-Lavigne was selected by conference participants representing some of the most influential biotechnology companies internationally. Dr. Tessier-Lavigne is president of Rockefeller, Carson Family Professor and head of the Laboratory of Brain Development and Repair.


Tobias Bartsch and Michal Breker, Simons Foundation Junior Fellows. The prestigious three-year fellowships are among the most generous postdoctoral fellowships, worth $72,100 per year plus research funding, benefits and indirect costs. Dr. Bartsch is a postdoc in A. James Hudspeth’s Laboratory of Sensory Neuroscience; Dr. Breker is a postdoc in Frederick R. Cross’ Laboratory of Cell Cycle Genetics.

Jeffrey M. Friedman and Leslie Vosshall, fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers for scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. Dr. Friedman is Marilyn M. Simpson Professor and head of the Laboratory of Genetics; Dr. Vosshall is Robin Chemers Neustein Professor and head of the Laboratory of Neurogenetics and Behavior.

Rand M. Miller and Jonathan Whicher, Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation fellows. The nonprofit organization, which supports innovative early-career researchers, grants three-year awards to outstanding postdocs conducting basic and translational cancer research. Dr. Miller is a member of Tarun Kapoor’s Selma and Lawrence Ruben Laboratory of Chemistry and Cell Biology; Dr. Whicher is a member of Roderick Mac-Kinnon’s Laboratory of Molecular Neurobiology and Biophysics.

Mikós Müller, an honorary member of the Hungarian Society for Microbiology. Dr. Müller is an emeritus professor.


The Altruistic Brain: How We Are Naturally Good, by Donald W. Pfaff, professor and head of the Laboratory of Neurobiology and Behavior. Detailing the work of neuroscientists, psychologists and evolutionary biologists, Dr. Pfaff’s book argues that the source of human kindness is as much physiological — etched in our brains, hormones and genes — as it is societal. The Altruistic Brain was published in January by Oxford University Press.


Kwame Adu, doorperson, Housing.

Endalkachew Alemu, postdoctoral fellow, Robert Darnell Lab.

Frederick Arce Vargas, visiting fellow, Ravetch Lab.

Renise Baptiste, research assistant, Ravetch Lab.

Alessandra Bonito Oliva, postdoctoral associate, Sakmar Lab.

Malte Braunschweig, visiting student, Nussenzweig Lab.

Wadek Bryslawskyj, watch engineer, Plant Operations Power House.

Emilie Ceraudo, visiting fellow, Sakmar Lab.

Viola Chen, visiting fellow, Coller Lab.

Jia Cheng, postdoctoral associate, Greengard Lab.

Paul Cohen, assistant professor and head of laboratory, Paul Cohen Lab.

Michael Danziger, research assistant, Brady Lab.

Viet Loan Dao Thi, postdoctoral fellow, Rice Lab.

Manjula Donepudi, assistant director, Technology Transfer.

Eliot Dow, postdoctoral associate, Hudspeth Lab.

Lyric Evans Hunter, administrative assistant, Tarakhovsky Lab.

Paul Feinstein, member of the adjunct faculty, Friedman Lab.

Vichelle Filoteo, environmental technician, Laboratory Safety and Environmental Health.

Raffaele Fiorenza, research assistant, Casanova Lab.

Maya Frankfurt, member of the adjunct faculty, Pfaff Lab.

Eyad Gharaibeh, research assistant, Coller Lab.

Anne Gregor, postdoctoral associate, Gleeson Lab.

Vincent Hakim, visiting professor, Siggia Lab.

Lisa Hang, visiting fellow, Kapoor Lab.

Linda Hanssler Wenner, coordinator, Office of Academic Affairs.

Keiichi Ito, postdoctoral associate, Roeder Lab.

Jin Seo Jeong, postdoctoral fellow, Chua Lab.

Dimitrios Kallifidas, member of the adjunct faculty, McEwen Lab.

Micah Katz, research assistant, Brady Lab.

Mark Knight, animal health technician II, Comparative Bioscience Center.

Kun Li, postdoctoral associate, Heintz Lab.

Howard Love, assistant network engineer, Information Technology.

Marc Missmahl, visiting student, Tavazoie Lab.

Rubayath Mohsen, technology transfer coordinator, Technology Transfer.

Andrea Morris, director, career and professional development, Dean’s Office.

Robert Nowinski, visiting scientist, Fischetti Lab.

Anthony Palillo, research assistant, Chen Lab.

Wynne Parry, science writer, Communications and Public Affairs.

Pamela Perkins, associate director, Rockefeller University Council, Development.

Viktoriya Pimanova, clinical research nurse, Hospital Nursing Inpatient.

Adam Procter, helpdesk and computer support specialist, Information Technology.

Hafsteinn Rannversson, visiting student, Sakmar Lab.

Paul Roossin, visiting scientist, Simon Lab.

Kathryn Rozen-Gagnon, postdoctoral associate, Rice Lab.

Zahra Sanghai, postdoctoral associate, Klinge Lab.

Nick Tataryn, visiting fellow, Comparative Bioscience Center.

Cecilia Unson, research specialist, Nussenzweig Lab.

Levar Wakefield, doorperson, Housing.

Charlotte Wincott, postdoctoral fellow, Kreek Lab.

Tianhao Wu, analyst, Investments.

Xiaofei Yu, postdoctoral associate, Friedman Lab.

Luis Zagami, receiving clerk, Purchasing.

Promoted (academic appointments):

Sarah Amy Stanley, to senior research associate, Friedman Lab.

Sohail Tavazoie, to associate professor and head of laboratory, Tavazoie Lab.

Yong Zhang, to research assistant professor, Kreek Lab.