Skip to main content

Three Rockefeller scientists receive 2005 Mayor's awards

Three of Rockefeller’s scientists were honored today with 2005 New York City’s Mayor’s Awards for Excellence in Science and Technology: Jan Breslow, Mitchell Feigenbaum and Leslie Vosshall.

Jan Breslow is recognized with the Award in Biological and Medical Sciences for his pioneering work on the genetic and environmental causes of atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease. Rockefeller University’s Ralph Steinman was one of the recipients of this award in 2004, which is based on the cumulative impact of an individual’s research on the present state of medical science, and other Rockefeller scientists, including Paul Greengard, Gunter Blobel and Josh Lederberg, have also been recognized.

Mitchell Feigenbaum, for his pioneering studies in chaos theory, is receiving the Award in Physical Sciences and Mathematics. The Award recognizes an individual’s impact on the state of physical or chemical sciences, or mathematics, and was received by Joel Cohen in 1998.

Leslie Vosshall, for her work on the molecular basis of olfaction in the fruit fly Drosophila received the Young Investigator Award, which recognizes scientists under the age of 40 for accomplishments in research or innovative applications of science and technology. Other Rockefeller scientists to receive this award are John D. McKinney, in 2004, and Thomas Tuschl, in 2003.

The awards, in seven categories including Engineering and Technology, Public Understanding of Science and Technology, Science Educator and Science and Society, are administered by the Mayor’s office in collaboration with the New York Academy of Sciences and are in recognition of the important roles that members of the science and engineering community play in the success of the city.

They were presented in a ceremony this afternoon at City Hall. Press Release