Skip to main content

McEwen to receive Pasarow Award

Rockefeller University’s Bruce McEwen, whose laboratory studies how the brain changes in response to stress and other experiences, will receive the 2005 Neuropsychiatry Research Award from the Robert J. and Claire Pasarow Foundation. The announcement was made this week by the Pasarow Foundation in Beverly Hills, California, and the award will be presented at a ceremony in June.

Pasarow awards, first presented in 1987, honor pioneering scholarly efforts in three fields: cancer, cardiovascular disease and neuropsychiatry. Dr. McEwen will receive a prize of $50,000 and will deliver a lecture at the University of Southern California.

Previous Rockefeller recipients of Pasarow awards include Barry Coller, head of the Laboratory of Blood and Vascular Biology, and Jan Breslow, head of the Laboratory of Biochemical Genetics and Metabolism.

Dr. McEwen is the Alfred E. Mirsky Professor and head of the Harold and Margaret Milliken Hatch Laboratory of Neuroendocrinology.