Skip to main content

Seth Darst joins National Academy of Sciences

Seth Darst, whose research explores the mechanisms by which RNA is transcribed from DNA, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors given to a scientist or engineer in the United States. Darst will be inducted into the Academy next April during its annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Darst, who is Rockefeller’s Jack Fishman Professor, has furthered scientists’ knowledge of the transcription process in several ways, including through structural studies of the molecular machinery involved in transcription. He joined Rockefeller University in 1992 as assistant professor and was promoted to associate professor in 1997 and professor in 2000. He was named a Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences in 1995, and a Career Scientist of the Irma T. Hirschl Charitable Trust in 1994. In 1990, Darst received the Lucille P. Markey Award in Biomedical Science.

“I am extremely pleased that Seth has been recognized with this prestigious honor,” says Paul Nurse, the university’s president. “He is a bold and innovative scientist and his work has furthered our knowledge in one of the most basic areas of life, the proteins involved in gene expression and heredity.”

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furthering of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare. Established in 1863, the National Academy of Sciences has served to investigate, examine, experiment and report upon any subject of science or art whenever called upon to do so by any department of the government. The Rockefeller faculty now includes 35 members or foreign associates of the National Academy of Sciences.

The National Academy of Sciences