Skip to main content



Elaine Fuchs, the 2012 Academy Medal for Distinguished Contributions in Biomedical Science from the New York Academy of Medicine, for her innovative and imaginative approaches to research in skin biology, its stem cells and its associated human genetic disorders. The medal is given to eminent scientists in biomedicine, particularly those with a special interest in translating research findings to advance human health. Dr. Fuchs is the Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor and head of the Laboratory of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development.

Charles M. Rice, the Prize of Pathophysiology Professor Lucien Dautrebande from the Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine, for his description of the molecular and cellular basis of hepatitis C infection in humans. Dr. Rice is the Maurice R. and Corinne P. Greenberg Professor in Virology and head of the Laboratory of Virology and Infectious Disease. He will receive €100,000 for the award, which is given every three years to an individual or team of researchers who have contributed to the progress of human or animal pathophysiology, with particular reference to advances in therapy.

Brad Rosenberg, the NIH Director’s Early Independence Award, given to exceptional early-career scientists who demonstrate the ability to establish their own research programs without the need for traditional postdoctoral training. The five-year, $2.1 million grant will support Dr. Rosenberg, who completed his M.D.-Ph.D. through the Tri-Institutional program in May, as he sets up a research program at Rockefeller on the immune system. He has been named a John C. Whitehead Presidential Fellow.


Entering an Unseen World, by Carol Moberg, senior research associate in the Laboratory of Cellular Physiology and Immunology. The book details the lab of Drs. Albert Claude, Christian de Duve and George Palade, and how it gave birth to modern cell biology, with contributions from 22 scientists who worked in the lab over the years, including several still affiliated with the university — Günter Blobel, Dr. de Duve, Samuel Dales and Miklós Müller. It will be published by The Rockefeller University Press in mid-December.

Neuroscience in the 21st Century, edited by Donald W. Pfaff, professor and head of the Laboratory of Neurobiology and Behavior. It’s a 3,200 page, five-volume overview of both basic science and clinical issues in modern neuroscience aimed at premedical, medical and graduate students. The digital text and accompanying videos will be available for free to students and research professionals in developing nations via the HINARI Access to Research in Health program. It is published by Springer.


Sofia Axelrod, postdoctoral associate, Young Lab.
Mariana Babayeva, member of the adjunct faculty, Coller Lab.
Noah Berland, research assistant, White and Levy Center for Mind, Brain and Behavior.
James Bibb, member of the adjunct faculty, Greengard Lab.
John Borsavage, campus security officer, Security.
Tristan Brennan-Torell, doorperson, Housing Scholars Residence.
Kerry-Ann Bright, research assistant, Rice Lab.
Jerry Chang, postdoctoral associate, Greengard Lab.
Antonia Chen, research assistant, Tessier-Lavigne Lab.
Mark Field, visiting professor, Rout Lab.
Kevin Franklin, animal attendant, Comparative Bioscience Center.
Rachel Gilmore, research assistant, Rice Lab.
Timothy Hopson, nursing assistant, Hospital Nursing Inpatient.
Connie Hsaio, research assistant, Greengard Lab.
Jin Young Kang, postdoctoral associate, MacKinnon Lab.
Michelle Kean, postdoctoral fellow, Chua Lab.
Charles Li, research assistant, Allis Lab.
Cherisse Loucks, postdoctoral associate, Konarska Lab.
Cindy Meyer, postdoctoral fellow, Tuschl Lab.
Vincent Minouflet, foreign research intern, Pfaff Lab.
Rohit Mital, visiting student, Tavazoie Lab.
Lilian Nogueira, research assistant, Nussenzweig Lab.
Jessica Pellegrino, visiting scientist, Tarakhovsky Lab.
Amy Quinkert, postdoctoral associate, Pfaff Lab.
Anna Rising, visiting assistant professor, Sakmar Lab.
Alberto Ruzo, postdoctoral associate, Brivanlou Lab.
Gerthon Saint Preux, animal attendant, Comparative Bioscience Center.
Paul Sauer, foreign research intern, Konarska Lab.
Andrew Siliciano, research assistant, Ruta Lab.
Colleen Smith, circulation assistant, Rockefeller University Press
Fumio Soeda, visiting professor, McEwen Lab.
Nadine Soplop, research support associate, Electron Microscopy Resource Center.
Dorien Staljanssens, visiting student, Sakmar Lab.
Inna Tabansky, postdoctoral associate, Pfaff Lab.
Julia Teitel, laboratory administrator, Tarakhovsky Lab.
Abigail Thomas, clinical research nurse, Hospital Nursing Outpatient.
Jillian Tintle, development assistant, Development.
Mary Vasquez, copy editor, Rockefeller University Press.
Kevin Vega, research assistant, Rice Lab.
Masashi Yamaji, postdoctoral fellow, Tuschl Lab.
Niu Yu, visiting student, Chua Lab.
Vyacheslav Yurchenko, visiting scientist, Tarakhovsky Lab.
Xiuzhong Zheng, research assistant, de Lange Lab.

Promoted (academic appointments):

Eric Schmidt, to senior research associate, Heintz Lab.