# **PROGRAM**

## Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Piano Trio in C Minor, Op. 1, No. 3

I. Allegro con brio

II. Andante cantabile con variazioni

III. Menuetto. Quasi Allegro

IV. Finale. Prestissimo

## Beethoven

Piano Trio in D Major, Op. 70, No. 1 "Ghost"

I. Allegro vivace e con brio

II. Largo assai ed espressivo

III. Presto

#### Intermission

#### Beethoven

Piano Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 70, No. 2

I. Poco sostenuto — Allegro ma non troppo

II. Allegretto

III. Allegretto ma non troppo

IV. Finale. Allegro

## Program and personnel subject to change. As a courtesy to the artists, please remain seated until they have left the hall. Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio is represented by Frank Salomon Associates

# **FEATURING**

Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio

Joseph Kalichstein, Piano Jaime Laredo, Violin Sharon Robinson, Cello

Since making their debut at the White House for President Carter's Inauguration in January 1977, pianist Joseph Kalichstein, violinist Jaime Laredo, and cellist Sharon Robinson have set the standard for performance of the piano trio literature. The Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio balances the careers of three internationally acclaimed soloists while making annual appearances at many of the world's major concert halls, commissioning spectacular new works, and maintaining an active recording agenda.

Musical America named the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio the Ensemble of the Year for 2002. The 2003-04 season was their first as Chamber Ensemble in Residence at the Kennedy Center, an honor which has continued to thrill the Trio throughout subsequent seasons. They were also awarded the first annual Samuel Sanders Collaborative Artists Award (2002) by the Foundation for Recorded Music, as well as in 2011. The steady stream of honors marks the high esteem that the classical music field holds for the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio.

The Trio is honored that the Chamber Music Society of Detroit has created the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson International Trio Award (KLRITA), an initiative with a two-fold purpose: to salute the Trio's contribution to chamber music worldwide and to encourage and enhance the careers of promising young piano trios. The KLRITA, in which 20 major presenters nationwide participate, is awarded to a new ensemble every two years.

Jaime Laredo and Sharon Robinson both serve on the esteemed instrumental and chamber music faculty at The Cleveland Institute of Music, and Joseph Kalichstein continues as a long-revered teacher at The Juilliard School of Music.