Skip to main content

2022 Highlights in Faculty Awards

Vilcek Prize logo

Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise

Shixin Liu, Ph.D.

Liu is honored for his use of single-molecule techniques to understand the mechanisms of the molecular machines in gene replication and expression.

National Academy of Medicine

National Academy of Medicine

Sohail Tavazoie, M.D., Ph.D.

Tavazoie was honored for expanding our understanding of the mechanisms enabling some tumors to spread from one body site to another.


Albany Medical Center

Albany Medical Center Prize

C. David Allis, Ph.D.

Allis receives the honor for discovering new mechanisms regulating gene expression.


NIH Director’s New Innovator Award

NIH Director’s New Innovator Award

Viviana I. Risca, Ph.D.

Viviana Risca was honored for her unique biophysical approach to understanding how different chromatin states regulate transcription.


Blavatnik banner

Blavatnik Regional Award Winner in Life Sciences

Josefina del Mármol, Ph.D.

A former member of the Ruta lab, del Mármol receives the honor for her research leading to the first-ever molecular images of an olfactory receptor at work.


HHMI Investigator logo

HHMI Hanna Gray Fellows

Begüm Aydin, Ph.D. and Alain Bonny, Ph.D.

Aydin, of the Mucida lab, and Bonny, a member of the Fuchs lab, received HHMI’s prestigious fellowship for exceptional early career scientists.

The Royal Society logo

The Royal Society

Titia de Lange, Ph.D.

She receives the honor for elucidating mechanisms of telomere protection and genome maintenance.

Association of American Physicians logo

George M. Kober Medal

Richard P. Lifton, M.D., Ph.D.

Lifton, who pioneered the use of genomics to identify the basis for diseases, is recognized for a lifetime of contributions in science and mentorship.

Achievements Awarded to Rockefeller Scientists

Fellow Member of Optica
Alipasha Vaziri, Ph.D.

National Cancer Institute Outstanding Investigator Award
Jeffrey V. Ravetch, M.D., Ph.D.
Sohail Tavazoie, M.D., Ph.D.

Tri-Institutional Breakout Award
Tomasz Ahrends, Ph.D.
Kevin Gonzales, Ph.D.

American Philosophical Society
Leslie B. Vosshall, Ph.D.

President, American Society of Clinical Investigation
Sohail Tavazoie, M.D., Ph.D.

ASCI/Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine
Michel C. Nussenzweig, M.D., Ph.D.

Michelson Philanthropies and Science Prize
Paul Bastard, M.D., Ph.D.

Allen Distinguished Investigator
Li Zhao, Ph.D.

American Association for the Advancement of Science
Jan L. Breslow, M.D.

Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award
Ekaterina V. Vinogradova, Ph.D.