Skip to main content
Phase III+: The University is open for expanded research operations; only authorized personnel will be admitted on campus. More info here.

2019 Highlights in Faculty Awards


National Academy of Medicine

National Academy of Medicine Membership

C. David Allis, Ph.D.

Allis, whose pioneering research established that enzymes that modify histone proteins, which package DNA in the nucleus, regulate gene expression, has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine.
MacArthur Foundation

MacArthur Fellow

Vanessa Ruta, Ph.D.

Ruta, who investigates how the brain is modified by experience, has received a MacArthur Fellowship, an award intended to encourage people of outstanding talent to pursue their own creative, intellectual, and professional inclinations.
National Academy of Sciences Membership

National Academy of Sciences Membership

Jue Chen, Ph.D.

Chen, a structural biologist, is honored for her innovative research on a family of transporter proteins that act as the cell’s pumping machinery, playing important roles in many cellular processes with broad implications for health and disease.
National Academy of Sciences Membership

National Academy of Sciences Membership

Luciano Marraffini, Ph.D.

Marraffini is recognized for his research on CRISPR-Cas9, whose adaptation as a gene-editing tool has revolutionized biomedical science. He has pioneered the exploration of diverse CRISPR-Cas systems and their role in bacterial immunity and evolution.
The Royal Society logo

Royal Society Membership

Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

Fuchs was elected as a foreign member for her groundbreaking study of the molecular mechanisms by which skin stem cells make and repair tissues.
Wolf Foundation

Wolf Prize in Medicine

Jeffrey M. Friedman, M.D., Ph.D.

Friedman is recognized for his discovery of leptin, a hormone that modulates food intake and energy expenditure.

Achievements Awarded to Rockefeller Scientists


American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Robert B. Darnell, M.D., Ph.D.

NIH Director’s Transformative Research Award
Brian T. Chait, D.Phil.
Erich D. Jarvis, Ph.D.

Blavatnik Regional Award
Laura Duvall, Ph.D.

Blavatnik Regional Award Finalist
Carla Nasca, Ph.D.
Liling Wan, Ph.D.

Regeneron Prize for Creative Innovation
Samantha Larsen, Ph.D.

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers
Priya Rajasethupathy, M.D., Ph.D.

Rita Allen Foundation Scholar
Li Zhao, Ph.D.

The Rockefeller University Distinguished Teaching Award
Kivanç Birsoy, Ph.D.
Paul Cohen, M.D., Ph.D.

Pew-Stewart Scholar for Cancer Research
Gabriel D. Victora, Ph.D.

Tri-Institutional Breakout Award for Junior Investigators
Laura Duvall, Ph.D.

Pershing Square Sohn Prize–Mathers Foundation Fellow
Daniel Mucida, Ph.D.

Larry Sandler Memorial Award
Laura Seeholzer, Ph.D.

AACR-G.H.A. Clowes Memorial Award
Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

Damon Runyon Fellow
Gregory P. Donaldson, Ph.D.