Skip to main content

2017 Highlights in Faculty Awards

Ralph W. Gerard Prize in Neuroscience

Ralph W. Gerard Prize in Neuroscience

Mary E. Hatten, Ph.D.

A neuroscientist who studies the mechanisms of neuronal differentiation and migration during the early stages of embryonic development, Hatten has been awarded the 2017 Ralph W. Gerard Prize in Neuroscience. The $25,000 prize, given annually by the Society for Neuroscience, honors an outstanding scientist who has made significant contributions to neuroscience throughout his or her career.

2017 Sanofi-Institut Pasteur Award

2017 Sanofi-Institut Pasteur Award

Michel C. Nussenzweig, M.D., Ph.D.

A major international prize in the life sciences concerning immunology, microbiology, and infection, this award recognizes Nussenzweig for his remarkable research on molecular aspects of adaptive and innate immune responses and his research on anti-HIV antibodies.

Nobel Foundation

Nobel Prize

Michael W. Young, Ph.D.

Young, who discovered the molecular mechanism of circadian rhythm, which governs biological clocks that regulate sleep, eating behavior, and metabolism, is this year’s recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, given by the Nobel Foundation.

Brandeis University

Rosenstiel Award

Titia de Lange, Ph.D.

Awards are given to scientists for recent discoveries of particular originality and importance to basic medical research. De Lange’s lab studies telomeres, protective elements at the ends of chromosomes critical for the stability and maintenance of the genetic information.

MacArthur Foundation

MacArthur Fellowship

Gabriel D. Victora, Ph.D.

The MacArthur Fellowship is a five-year grant to individuals who show exceptional creativity in their work and the prospect for still more in the future. Victora studies germinal centers, which are structures within lymphoid organs where antibodies mutate and improve their targeting capabilities in a process called affinity maturation.

National Academy of Medicine

National Academy of Medicine Membership

Cori Bargmann, Ph.D.

Bargmann is elected to the National Academy of Medicinean independent organization of eminent professionals from diverse fields including health and medicine; the natural, social, and behavioral sciences; and beyond. Using C. elegans as a model, Bargmann’s laboratory characterizes genes and neural pathways that allow the nervous system to generate flexible behaviors.

Albany Medical Center

Albany Medical Center Prize

Luciano Marraffini, Ph.D.

This prize is awarded to a physician, scientist or group, whose work has led to significant advances in health care and scientific research with demonstrated translational benefits for improved patient care. Marraffini investigates the molecular mechanisms that make CRISPR immunity possible, as well as its evolutionary implications.

2017 March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology

2017 March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology

C. David Allis, Ph.D.

The award, given to investigators whose research offers hope for the prevention and treatment of birth defects and other infant diseases, honors Allis for his groundbreaking work on gene regulation.

Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Award

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

Gregory M. Alushin, Ph.D.

The prestigious award, given annually by the White House, recognizes scientists and engineers who show exceptional potential early on in their careers. Alushin has been honored for his innovative research on how cells respond to mechanical forces.

Robert Koch Award

McEwen Award for Innovation

Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

Granted by the International Society for Stem Cell Research, the award recognizes Fuchs for her groundbreaking contributions to skin stem cell research. Dr. Fuchs studies where stem cells come from and how they make and repair tissue throughout life.

naos award logo

Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry

Howard C. Hang, Ph.D.

The prize, given by the American Chemical Society, recognizes outstanding work in biological chemistry of unusual merit and independence of thought and originality. Hang has been honored for his research on the mechanisms of microbe–host interactions.

National Academy of Sciences Membership

National Academy of Sciences Membership

Mary E. Hatten, Ph.D.

Dr. Hatten studies the development of the complex cellular architecture of the mammalian brain. She is one of 84 new national members inducted into the Academy in 2017.

Additional Achievements Awarded to Rockefeller Scientists

Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine
Jeffrey V. Ravetch, M.D., Ph.D.

Blavatnik Regional Award
Chao Lu

Blavatnik Regional Award Finalist
Ataman Sendoel

Blavatnik Regional Award Finalist
Eunyong Park

Howard Taylor Ricketts Award
Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

The Rockefeller University Distinguished Teaching Award
Paul Bieniasz, Ph.D.

Exceptional Service Award, New York Academy of Medicine
Barry S. Coller, M.D.

Gabrielle H. Reem and Herbert J. Kayden Early-Career Innovation Award
The Rockefeller University Distinguished Teaching Award
Winrich Freiwald, Ph.D.

Gabrielle H. Reemand Herbert J. Kayden Early-Career Innovation Award
Gaby Maimon, Ph.D.
Luciano Marraffini, Ph.D.
Daniel Mucida, Ph.D.
Agata Smogorzewska, M.D., Ph.D.
Sohail Tavazoie, M.D., Ph.D.

Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists
Mijo Simunovic

Gilead Sciences Research Scholars Program in HIV Award
Stylianos Bournazos, Ph.D.

AAI-Steinman Award for Human Immunology Research
Jean-Laurent Casanova, M.D., Ph.D.

Tri-Institutional Breakout Awards
Eleanor Clowney
Xiaochun Li

American Society of Clinical Investigation Young Physician-Scientist Award
Paul Cohen, M.D., Ph.D.

Pathway to Stop Diabetes research grant
Paul Cohen, M.D., Ph.D.

Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award
Raphael Cohn

National Academy of Inventors Fellowship
Vincent A. Fischetti, Ph.D.

Melanoma Research Alliance Award
Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

Constance Lieber Prize for Innovation in Developmental Neuroscience
Joseph G. Gleeson, M.D.

Sidney Kimmel Foundation Kimmel Scholar Award
Shixin Liu, Ph.D.

American Academy of Microbiology Fellowship
Luciano Marraffini, Ph.D.

AAI-BioLegend Herzenberg Award
Michel C. Nussenzweig, M.D., Ph.D.

Searle Scholar
Gabriel D. Victora, Ph.D.

Anatrace Membrane Protein Award
Jue Chen, Ph.D.