Skip to main content
Phase III+: The University is open for expanded research operations; only authorized personnel will be admitted on campus. More info here.

2016 Highlights in Faculty Awards

Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Award

Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Award

Charles M. Rice, Ph.D.

Considered the most coveted American prize in medical science, the Lasker Award honors Rice for his role in developing a system to study the replication of the virus that causes hepatitis C, an advance that has led to safe and powerful new drugs that cure the disease.

Robert Koch Award

Robert Koch Award

Michel C. Nussenzweig, M.D., Ph.D.

Given by the Robert Koch Foundation of Germany, the annual award is one of Germany’s most prestigious prizes, honoring extraordinary accomplishments in infectious disease research. The prize recognizes Nussenzweig for his outstanding achievements in immunology.

naos award logo

National Academy of Sciences Membership

Nathaniel Heintz, Ph.D.

Stanislas Leibler, Ph.D.

Heintz, who studies the inner workings of the mammalian brain, and Leibler, who explores questions related to how simple genetic and biochemical networks function, are among the new members to be inducted into the academy in 2016.

naos award logo

Inserm Grand Prix (France)

Jean-Laurent Casanova, M.D., Ph.D.

Granted by Inserm, the French National Institute of Health and Medical Research, the award honors researchers whose work has contributed to the institute’s scientific excellence. Casanova has been recognized for his work on the genetic basis of infectious diseases.

Additional Achievements Awarded to Rockefeller Scientists

Karolinska Institute’s Jubilee Gold Medal
Torsten Wiesel, M.D.

The Rockefeller University Distinguished Teaching Award
Daniel Kronauer, Ph.D.
Mary E. Hatten, Ph.D.

Gruber Genetics Prize, Gruber Foundation at Yale
C. David Allis, Ph.D.

Edward M. Scolnick Prize in Neuroscience
Cori Bargmann, Ph.D.

Irma T. Hirschl/Monique Weill-Caulier Trust Research Award 
Kadir Has Early Career Scientist Award, Kadir Has University, Turkey
Kimmel Foundation Cancer Scholar, Sidney Kimmel Foundation for Cancer Research
Kivanç Birsoy, Ph.D.

Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award, American Society for Clinical Investigation
Jean-Laurent Casanova, M.D., Ph.D.

Young Investigator Award, Human Frontier Science Program
Paul Cohen, M.D., Ph.D

Gill Award, University of Kentucky Gill Heart Institute
Barry Coller, M.D

W. Alden Spencer Award 
Winrich Freiwald, Ph.D.

Vanderbilt Prize in Biomedical Science
Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine, American Society for Clinical Investigation
Jeffrey M. Friedman, M.D., Ph.D.

American Philosophical Society Membership
A. James Hudspeth, M.D., Ph.D.

National Institutes of Health Director’s New Innovator Award
Sebastian Klinge, Ph.D.

HHMI Faculty Scholar
Daniel Kronauer, M.D., Ph.D.

Irma T. Hirschl/Monique Weill-Caulier Trust Research Award
Shixin Liu, Ph.D.

Regeneron Prize for Creative Innovation
John Maciejowski, Ph.D.

HHMI Faculty Scholar
Luciano Marraffini, Ph.D.

National Institutes of Health Director’s Early Independence Award
Monica Mugnier, Ph.D.

Rabbi Shai Shacknai Memorial Prize, Hebrew University-Hadassah Medical School-Israel
Michel C. Nussenzweig, M.D., Ph.D.

Outstanding Investigator Award, National Cancer Institute
Jeffrey V. Ravetch, M.D., Ph.D.

David B. Frohnmayer Early Investigator Award, Fanconi Anemia Research Fund
HHMI Faculty Scholar
Agata Smogorzewska, M.D., Ph.D.

International Cell Death Society Award, International Cell Death Society
Hermann Steller, Ph.D.

HHMI Faculty Scholar
Sohail Tavazoie, M.D., Ph.D.