Skip to main content

2015 Highlights in Faculty Awards


Robert Koch Award

Robert Koch Award

Charles M. Rice, Ph.D.

Granted by the Robert Koch Foundation, the annual award is one of Germany’s most distinguished scientific prizes and honors extraordinary accomplishments in infectious disease research. It recognizes Rice’s work on understanding the lifecycle of the hepatitis C virus and laying the groundwork for effective therapeutic developments.
Wolf Foundation Prize

Wolf Foundation Prize in Medicine

Jeffrey V. Ravetch, M.D., Ph.D.

Considered one of the most prestigious prizes in medicine, the Wolf Prize recognizes Ravetch’s work on the molecular basis of the immune response, including the Fc receptor system that mediates antibody function in disease and health.
naos award logo

National Academy of Sciences Membership

Jean-Laurent Casanova, M.D., Ph.D.

Leslie B. Vosshall, Ph.D.

Vosshall, who investigates how sensory stimuli are perceived and processed, and Casanova, who studies the genetics of infectious disease susceptibility in children, are among the new members and foreign associates to be inducted into the Academy in 2015.
naom award logo

National Academy of Medicine Membership

Jean-Laurent Casanova, M.D., Ph.D.

With his election, Casanova, who investigates the genetic underpinnings of unusual vulnerability to specific infectious diseases among young people, receives one of the highest honors within the field of medicine.
ascb award logo

E.B. Wilson Medal, American Society for Cell Biology

Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

In recognition of her pioneering research on mammalian skin and adult stem cells, Fuchs has received the E.B. Wilson Medal, the highest scientific honor bestowed by the American Society for Cell Biology.
golden goose award

Golden Goose Award

Torsten Wiesel, M.D.

Joel E. Cohen, Ph.D., Dr.P.H.

The Golden Goose Award, which honors seemingly obscure federally funded research that has led to major breakthroughs, recognizes Cohen’s development of a map of human population by geographic altitude and Wiesel’s experiments showing cats dots or lights projected on a screen.

Additional Achievements Awarded to Rockefeller Scientists


K.T. Jeang Retrovirology Prize, 2015
Paul Bieniasz, Ph.D.

The Rockefeller University Distinguished Teaching Award
Gaby Maimon, Ph.D.
Vanessa Ruta, Ph.D.

Jonathan Kraft Prize for Excellence in Cancer Research
C. David Allis, Ph.D.

American Geographical Society Honorary Fellowship
Jesse H. Ausubel, M.A.

Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry
Brian T. Chait, D.Phil.

Irma T. Hirschl/Monique Weill-Caulier Trust Research Award
Paul Cohen, M.D., Ph.D.

AAI-Steinman Award for Human Immunology Research
Mary Ellen Conley, M.D.

Edward M. Scolnick Prize in Neuroscience
Charles D. Gilbert, M.D., Ph.D.

Louise Hanson Marshall Special Recognition Award
Paul Greengard, Ph.D.

Cowan Award
Mary E. Hatten, Ph.D.

American Philosophical Society Membership
A. James Hudspeth, M.D., Ph.D.

Barry Stimmel Memorial Award
Mary Jeanne Kreek, M.D.

Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences
Daniel Kronauer, Ph.D.

McKnight Scholar Award in Neuroscience
Gaby Maimon, Ph.D.

Earl and Thressa Stadtman Scholar Award
Hans Sigrist Prize
Luciano Marraffini, Ph.D.

Thomas W. Salmon Award and Lecture
Bruce S. McEwen, Ph.D.

Henry G. Friesen International Prize in Health Research
Paul Nurse, Ph.D.

AASLD Distinguished Achievement Award
Charles M. Rice, Ph.D.

Hope Funds for Cancer Research Award of Excellence
Herbert Tabor Research Award
Robert G. Roeder, Ph.D.

Pershing Square Sohn Prize for Young Investigators in Cancer Research
Sohail Tavazoie, M.D., Ph.D.