Skip to main content

2013 Highlights in Faculty Awards


the shaw prize

Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine

Michael W. Young

Michael W. Young and two colleagues will be awarded the 2013 Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine, worth $1 million. Established in 2002, the Shaw Prize honors individuals who have achieved breakthroughs in academic and scientific research or applications and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on humanity.
life sciences breakthrough prize

Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences

Titia de Lange, Ph.D.

Cori Bargmann, Ph.D.

Two Rockefeller University scientists are among 11 winners of the first annual Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, an award established by six tech entrepreneurs dedicated to advancing breakthrough research. At $3 million each, the prizes are worth more than twice the amount of the Nobel. They were created to recognize excellence in research aimed at curing intractable diseases and extended human life.
King_Faisal International Prize Logo

King Faisal International Prize for Medicine

Jeffrey Friedman

Jeffrey M. Friedman, the Marilyn M. Simpson Professor and head of the Laboratory of Molecular Genetics, will be the recipient of two international scientific awards announced this week. The King Faisal International Prize in Medicine, from the Saudi Arabian King Faisal Foundation.

Pasarow Foundation Award for Medical Research

Elaine Fuchs

Pasarow Awards, first presented in 1987, honor extraordinary achievement, creativity and distinction in the areas of cancer, cardiovascular disease and neuropsychiatry.
White House Logo

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

Gaby Maimon

Maimon has been chosen by President Obama as one of 20 NIH scientists to receive the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. He is being recognized for his work linking genes to higher brain function by way of cellular electrophysiology, research that earned him the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award in 2012.


Additional Achievements Awarded to Rockefeller Scientists


The Rockefeller University Distinguished Teaching Award
Luciano Marraffini, Ph.D.
Sohail Tavazoie, M.D., Ph.D.

Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and Lecturship, American Association of Blood Banks
Barry S. Coller, Ph.D.

American Philosophical Society Membership, American Philosophical Society
James E. Darnell, Jr., M.D.

Jill Rose Award, Breast Cancer Research Foundation
Katherine Berkan Judd Award, Memorial Sloan Kettering
Titia de Lange, Ph.D.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellowship
Jeffrey Friedman, M.D., Ph.D.

Kligman-Frost Leadership Lecture Award, Society for Investigative Dermatology
Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

Maurice Hilleman/Merck Award, American Society for Microbiology
Emil C. Gotschlich, M.D.

Gregory Pincus Memorial Award, Worcester Foundation for Biomedical Research
Bruce S. McEwen, Ph.D. 

Albert Einstein World Award of Science, World Cultural Council
Paul Nurse, Ph.D.

Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award, American Liver Foundation
Charles M. Rice, Ph.D.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellowship
Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Ph.D.