Skip to main content

2010 Highlights in Faculty Awards


Lasker Award Logo

2010 Lasker Award

Jeffrey M. Friedman, M.D., Ph.D.

With the discovery of leptin and Jeffrey Friedman’s subsequent studies, the logic of an entirely new physiological system has been established with direct implications for the pathophysiology of human obesity. In addition to providing scientists with a new target for treating obesity, the discovery has helped scientists develop treatments for other metabolic conditions, such as diabetes, and for women with hypothalamic amenorrhea.
naom award logo

2010 Institute of Medicine

Robert B. Darnell, M.D., Ph.D.

Robert B. Darnell’s research is concentrated on paraneoplastic syndromes (PNDs, the Paraneoplastic Neurologic Disorders), disorders touching on various clinical and basic aspects of biology including Cancer immunology, Neuroimmunology, and RNA-binding proteins.


Titia de Lange, Ph.D

Titia de Lange studies how the erosion of chromosome ends is related to the development of cancer, focusing on how telomeres protect chromosome ends. The goal of de Lange’s research is to understand how telomeres protect chromosome ends, how they interact with and regulate telomerase, and what happens when telomere function is lost.
Heineken Prize

2010 Heineken Prize for Medicine

Ralph M. Steinman, M.D., Ph.D.

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences has awarded the Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for Medicine to Ralph M. Steinman “for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in the immune response.” In 1973, Steinman discovered the dendritic cell, a previously unknown type of white blood cell that acts as the “sentinel” of the immune system, marshaling T cells to fight harmful pathogens and programming other immune cells to recognize safe, endogenous antigens and thus avoid autoimmunity.
Karolinska Logo

2010 Karolinska Institute Bicentennial Gold Medal

Paul Greengard, M.D., Ph.D.

Michel C. Nussenzweig, Sherman Fairchild Professor and head of the Laboratory of Molecular Immunology, was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of his deep contributions to our understanding of the workings of the innate and adaptive immune systems.
Salk Official Logo

2010 Salk Medal for Research Excellence

Robert G. Roeder, Ph.D.

Robert G. Roeder, head of the Laboratory of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, will receive the Salk Institute’s Medal for Research Excellence for his contributions to the understanding of RNA synthesis in animal cells. This is only the second time in Salk’s 50-year history that medals have been awarded.
L'Oreal Women in Science

2010 L’Oréal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science

Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

Elaine Fuchs, Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor and head of the Laboratory of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development at Rockefeller University, will be the North American recipient of a 2010 L’Oréal-UNESCO Award in the Life Sciences, which recognizes exceptional women scientists.


Additional Achievements Awarded to Rockefeller Scientists


The Rockefeller University Distinguished Teaching Award
Charles D. Gilbert, M.D., Ph.D.

Eli Lilly and Company Research Award, American Society for Microbiology
Paul Bieniasz, Ph.D.

Research Achievement Award, American Heart Association
Jan L. Breslow, M.D.

Mead Johnson Award for Research in Pediatrics, Society for Pediatric Research
Jean-Laurent Casanova, M.D., Ph.D.

Lawrence Bogorad Award for Excellence in Plant Biology Research, American Society of Plant Biologists
Nam-Hai Chua, Ph.D.

Hope Funds for Cancer Research Award
James Darnell, M.D., Ph.D.

Innovator Award: Outstanding Physician-Scientist, GeneExpression Systems
Robert B. Darnell, M.D., Ph.D.

American Association for Cancer Research GHA Clowes Award
Titia de Lange, Ph.D.

American Association for Cancer Research, Charlotte Friend Memorial Lecture Award
Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

European Molecular Biology Organization Associate Membership
Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

Pew Scholarship in the Biomedical Sciences
Winrich Freiwald, Ph.D.

European Molecular Biology Organization Associate Membership
Jeffrey M. Friedman, M.D., Ph.D.

Dart/New York University Medical School Biotechnology Achievement Award
Paul Greengard, Ph.D.

Guyot Prize, University of Groningen, Netherlands
A. James Hudspeth, M.D., Ph.D.

Lillian D. Wald Award, Visiting Nurse Service of New York
Attallah Kappas, M.D.

Astellas Award, American Academy of Dermatology
James G. Krueger, M.D., Ph.D.

Neuronal Plasticity Prize, Ipsen Foundation
Bruce S. McEwen, Ph.D.

William Allen Award, American Society of Human Genetics
Jürg Ott, Ph.D.

Neuronal Plasticity Prize, Ipsen Foundation
Donald W. Pfaff, Ph.D.

Irma T. Hirschl/Monique Weill-Caulier Trust Research Award
Agata Smogorzewska, M.D., Ph.D.

Era of Hope Scholar, Department of Defense
Sohail Tavazoie, M.D., Ph.D.

Member, German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
Thomas Tuschl, Ph.D.

Dart/New York University Medical School Biotechnology Achievement Award
Leslie B. Vosshall, PD.