Skip to main content

2011 Highlights in Faculty Awards


nobel prize

2011 Nobel Prize

Ralph M. Steinman, M.D.

Ralph M. Steinman, who discovered the immune system’s sentinel dendritic cells and demonstrated that science can fruitfully harness the power of these cells and other components of the immune system to curb infections and other communicable diseases, is the 2011 recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physiology.
naom award logo

2011 Institute of Medicine

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Ph.D.

A world leader in the study of brain development, Rockefeller University President Marc Tessier-Lavigne has pioneered the identification of the molecules that direct the formation of connections among nerve cells to establish neuronal circuits in the mammalian brain and spinal cord. Tessier-Lavigne is among 65 new members and five foreign associates elected to the Institute this year.
horwitz prize

2011 Horwitz Prize

Michael W. Young, Ph.D.

Michael W. Young, head of the Laboratory of Genetics at Rockefeller University receives the 2011 Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize from Columbia University. He shares the prize with Jeffrey C. Hall and Michael Rosbash for their work on the molecular basis of circadian rhythms, the first demonstration of a molecular mechanism for behavior.
naos award logo

2011 National Academy of Sciences

Michel C. Nussenzweig, M.D., Ph.D.

Michel C. Nussenzweig, Sherman Fairchild Professor and head of the Laboratory of Molecular Immunology, was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of his deep contributions to our understanding of the workings of the innate and adaptive immune systems.
Albany Medical Center Prize

2011 Albany Medical Center Prize

Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

Elaine Fuchs, head of Rockefeller’s Laboratory of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development, was named a recipient of this year’s Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research, at $500,000 the largest award in medicine and science in the United States.


Additional Achievements Awarded to Rockefeller Scientists


The Rockefeller University Distinguished Teaching Award
Howard C. Hang, Ph.D.
Tarun Kapoor, Ph.D.

Howard Taylor Ricketts Award
Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Science
C. David Allis, Ph.D.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences membership
Jesse H. Ausubel M.A.

European Molecular Biology Organization Associate membership
Cori Bargmann, Ph.D.

Perl-UNC Neuroscience Prize
Cori Bargmann, Ph.D.

American Academy of Microbiology fellowship
Paul Bieniasz, Ph.D.

InBev-Baillet Latour Health Prize
Jean-Laurent Casanova, M.D., Ph.D.

Vilcek Prize in Biomedical Science, Vilcek Foundation
Titia de Lange, Ph.D.

Rensselear Polytechnic Alumni Hall of Fame
Jeffrey Friedman, M.D.

McKnight Scholar Award in Neuroscience
Winrich Friewald, Ph.D.

James Madison Medal, Association of Princeton Graduate Alumni
Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

Passano Award, The Passano Foundation
Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

“Brilliant Ten,” Popular Science Magazine
Gaby Maimon, Ph.D.

Irma T. Hirschl/Monique Weill-Caulier Trust Research Award
Gaby Maimon, Ph.D.

Irma T. Hirschl/Monique Weill-Caulier Trust Research Award
Luciano Marraffini, Ph.D.

Edward M. Scolnick Prize in Neuroscience, McGovern Institute for Brain Research, MIT
Bruce S. McEwen, Ph.D.

Mortimer D. Sackler, M.D. Prize for Distinguished Achievement in Developmental Psychobiology,
Weill Cornell Medical College and Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
Fernando Nottebohm, Ph.D.

Daniel S. Lehrman Lifetime Achievement Award in Behavioral Neuroendocrinology
Donald W. Pfaff, Ph.D.

Astellas Young Investigator Award, Infectious Diseases Society of America
Alexander Ploss, Ph.D.

W. Maxwell Cowan Prize, Cajal Club and Journal of Comparative Neurology
Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Ph.D.

Memorial Sloan-Kettering Medal for Outstanding Contributions to Biomedical Research,
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Ph.D.

Young Investigator Award, Gill Center for Biomedical Science, Indiana University
Leslie B. Vosshall, PD.