Skip to Main Content

2015 Highlights in Faculty Awards

Robert Koch Prize

Robert Koch Award

Charles M. Rice, Ph.D.

Granted by the Robert Koch Foundation, the annual award is one of Germany’s most distinguished scientific prizes and honors extraordinary accomplishments in infectious disease research. It recognizes Rice’s work on understanding the lifecycle of the hepatitis C virus and laying the groundwork for effective therapeutic developments.
> full story

Wolf Foundation Prize in Medicine

Wolf Foundation Prize in Medicine

Jeffrey V. Ravetch, M.D., Ph.D.

Considered one of the most prestigious prizes in medicine, the Wolf Prize recognizes Ravetch’s work on the molecular basis of the immune response, including the Fc receptor system that mediates antibody function in disease and health.
> full story

National Academy of Sciences membership

National Academy of Sciences Membership

Jean-Laurent Casanova, M.D., Ph.D.
Leslie B. Vosshall, Ph.D.

Vosshall, who investigates how sensory stimuli are perceived and processed, and Casanova, who studies the genetics of infectious disease susceptibility in children, are among the new members and foreign associates to be inducted into the Academy in 2015. 
> full story

National Academy of Medicine membership

National Academy of Medicine Membership

Jean-Laurent Casanova, M.D., Ph.D.

With his election, Casanova, who investigates the genetic underpinnings of unusual vulnerability to specific infectious diseases among young people, receives one of the highest honors within the field of medicine.
> full story   

E. B. Wilson Medal, American Society for Cell Biology

E.B. Wilson Medal, American Society for Cell Biology

Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

In recognition of her pioneering research on mammalian skin and adult stem cells, Fuchs has received the E.B. Wilson Medal, the highest scientific honor bestowed by the American Society for Cell Biology.
> full story

Golden Goose Award

Golden Goose Award

Torsten Wiesel, M.D.
Joel E. Cohen, Ph.D., Dr.P.H.

The Golden Goose Award, which honors seemingly obscure federally funded research that has led to major breakthroughs, recognizes Cohen’s development of a map of human population by geographic altitude and Wiesel’s experiments showing cats dots or lights projected on a screen.
> full story


Additional Achievements Awarded to Rockefeller Scientists

Jonathan Kraft Prize for Excellence in Cancer Research
    C. David Allis, Ph.D.
American Geographical Society Honorary Fellowship
    Jesse H. Ausubel, M.A.
Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry
     Brian T. Chait, D.Phil.
Irma T. Hirschl/Monique Weill-Caulier Trust Research Award
    Paul Cohen, M.D., Ph.D.
AAI-Steinman Award for Human Immunology Research
    Mary Ellen Conley, M.D.
Edward M. Scolnick Prize in Neuroscience
    Charles D. Gilbert, M.D., Ph.D.
Louise Hanson Marshall Special Recognition Award
    Paul Greengard, Ph.D.
Cowan Award
    Mary E. Hatten, Ph.D.
American Philosophical Society Membership
    A. James Hudspeth, M.D., Ph.D.
Barry Stimmel Memorial Award
    Mary Jeanne Kreek, M.D.
Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences
    Daniel Kronauer, Ph.D.
McKnight Scholar Award in Neuroscience
    Gaby Maimon, Ph.D.
Earl and Thressa Stadtman Scholar Award
    Luciano Marraffini, Ph.D.
Hans Sigrist Prize
     Luciano Marraffini, Ph.D.
Thomas W. Salmon Award and Lecture
    Bruce S. McEwen, Ph.D.
Henry G. Friesen International Prize in Health Research 
     Paul Nurse, Ph.D.
AASLD Distinguished Achievement Award
    Charles M. Rice, Ph.D.
Hope Funds for Cancer Research Award of Excellence
    Robert G. Roeder, Ph.D.
Herbert Tabor Research Award
     Robert G. Roeder, Ph.D.
Pershing Square Sohn Prize for Young Investigators in Cancer Research
    Sohail Tavazoie, M.D., Ph.D.



 Robert Koch AwardCharles M. Rice, Ph.D.Granted by the Robert Koch Foundation, the annual award is one of Germany’s most distinguished scientific prizes and honors extraord