Skip to Main Content

2012 Highlights in Faculty Awards

Canada Gairdner International Award

2012 Canada International Gairdner Award

Jeffrey V. Ravetch, M.D., Ph.D. and Michael W. Young, Ph.D. 

The Gairdner Foundation is recognizing Jeffrey V. Ravetch for his work demonstrating how our immune system can be both protective and harmful and Michael W. Young for his nearly three decades of research on circadian rhythms, the biological clocks that regulate our bodies’ patterns of sleep and wakefulness, metabolism and response to disease. The Gairdner, which is Canada’s highest scientific award, is considered among the top ten most prestigious international prizes in science. 
> full story


2012 Heineken Prize for Biochemistry &


Titia de Lange Ph.D.

Titia de Lange, Leon Hess Professor and head of the Laboratory of Cell Biology and Genetics at Rockefeller University, has been awarded the Dr H.P. Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics, the first time the award has been given to a woman. > full story

Sanofi-Institut Pasteur Award

2012 Sanofi-Institut Pasteur Award

Jeffrey V. Ravetch, M.D., Ph.D.

Jeffrey V. Ravetch, head of the Leonard Wagner Laboratory of Molecular Genetics and Immunology at Rockefeller University, has been given the 2012 Sanofi – Institut Pasteur Award for discovering mechanisms by which antibodies carry out their diverse biological functions. 
> full story

Kavli Prize for Neuroscience

2012 Kavli Prize for Neuroscience

Cori Bargmann, Ph.D.

Cornelia Bargmann, Torsten N. Wiesel Professor and head of the Lulu and Anthony Wang Laboratory of Neural Circuits and Behavior, is the recipient of the 2012 Kavli Prize in Neuroscience, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters announced today. Bargmann, who is also an investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, is among the first women scientists to receive the prize, which was first awarded in 2008. 
> full story

Albany Medical Center Prize

2012 Albany Medical Center Prize 

James E. Darnell, Jr., Ph.D. and Robert G. Roeder, Ph.D.

James E. Darnell Jr., head of the Laboratory of Molecular Cell Biology at Rockefeller University, and Robert G. Roeder, head of the Laboratory of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, will be honored with the Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research, the nation’s largest prize in medicine.
> full story  

Kavli Prize for Neuroscience

2012 March of Dimes Prize in Developmental


Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

Elaine Fuchs, Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor and head of the Laboratory of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development, will receive the 2012 March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology, a coveted award given to honor advancements in the science that underlies our understanding of birth defects. 
> full story

Canada Gairdner International Award

2012 Massry Prize

Michael W. Young, Ph.D.

Michael W. Young, Richard and Jeanne Fisher Professor and head of the Laboratory of Genetics, is being honored with the 2012 Massry Prize for his groundbreaking work on the molecular biology of circadian rhythms.
> full story


Additional Achievements Awarded to Rockefeller Scientists

National Ocean Champion, The Urban Coast Institute
Jesse H. Ausubel, M.A. 
American Philosophical Society membership, American Philosophical Society
Cori Bargmann, Ph.D.
Dart/NYU Biotechnology Achievement Award, New York University Medical School
Cori Bargmann, Ph.D.
Robert I. Levy Award, Kinetics & Metabolism Society
Jan L. Breslow,  M.D.
Milstein Award, International Society for Interferon and Cytokine Research
Jean-Laurent Casanova, M.D., Ph.D. 
Pehr Edman Award, International Association for Protein Structure Analysis and Proteomics
Brian T. Chait, D.Phil. 
Rosalind E. Franklin Award, National Cancer Institute
Titia de Lange, Ph.D. 
BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award, BBVA Foundation
Jeffrey M. Friedman, M.D., Ph.D. 
Endocrine Regulation Prize, Ipsen Foundation (France)
Jeffrey M. Friedman, M.D., Ph.D.
Irving Sigal Young Investigator Award, Protein Society
Tarun Kapoor, Ph.D.
Wellesley College Alumnae Achievement Award
Mary Jeanne Kreek, M.D.
Irma T. Hirschl/Monique Weill-Caulier Trust Award, Irma T. Hirschl Trust
Daniel Mucida, Ph.D. 
Sanofi-Institut Pasteur Award, Institut Pasteur
Jeffrey V. Ravetch, M.D., Ph.D.
Prix de la Fondation de Physiopathologie - Professor Lucien Dautrebande Prize, Belgium Royal Academy of Medicine
Charles M. Rice, Ph.D.
McKnight Scholar Award in Neuroscience, The McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience
Vanessa Ruta, Ph.D.
Pew Scholars Program in Biomedical Sciences, Pew Charitable Trusts
Vanessa Ruta, Ph.D.
Henry G. Friesen International Prize in Health Research, Friends of Canadian Institutes of Health Research
Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Ph.D.